Video chat have taken a huge stride in the past decade. From Skype to Apple’s Facetime, friends and family no longer feel the thousand of miles that lay between them during casual conversations.

But video chatting has come further than that. I had applied to a couple of international internships over the past few weeks and I got a response from a financial firm in London who wants to interview me via Skype. So, I would still need to dress up in a blazer, shirt and tie while donning a pair of shorts and flip-flops.

Online interviews have increased over 49% according to a survey conducted by Premier Global Services. 

Apart from all its seriousness, I feel uncomfortable doing video chats with friends, family or colleagues. So this particular round could be a critical stride for me to maintain constant eye – contact (not the creepy stare) and sit in a straight posture and ensure that my webcam is not pointing towards the ceiling.

While prepping for this interview, one of the questions that I have been toiling in my mind is should I be looking directly into the webcam (In which I can maintain eye-contact but wont be able to see my interviewer’s reaction) or do I look at the monitor (I could see my interviewer but scratch out the eye-contact). Regardless of what I do, I will still feel uncomfortable talking to someone inside my computer.

Here is an infographic from the same guys who conducted the survey above discussing the future in hiring:

video-chat-aint-just-long