calvin-and-hobbes

For some people, their favorite time of the year maybe thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, spring break, summer holidays, etc. Mine is always New Years Eve. It’s great to look back and see what we’ve achieved in the past twelve months. Check if we stuck to last year’s New Year resolution or not. I know I did not. I was supposed to stay away from chocolates but naturally I failed (it was a disastrous fail).

Here are some of my friends’ resolutions:

  1. Run a marathon
  2. Drop the usual three cups of coffee to not more than one per day
  3. Read more books
  4. Stop complaining
  5. Get a career switch
  6. Find my significant other
  7. Get out of debt
  8. Save more money
  9. Meditate daily
  10. Visit a new place
  11. Write a diary
  12. Reconnect with old friends/colleagues

As much as they all sound promising, I think it redefines the meaning of a resolution; specially a yearly one. For instance, getting a career switch and paying off one’s debt should not really be a resolution but should be more like rewarding your life with your work. Resolutions need to be things you don’t like doing but willing to change your likes for a whole year. The most successful resolution I have accomplished so far was not drinking soda for a year. Not only did I manage to stay away from it, but I don’t drink soda anymore at all. If it was something I could do for a year, I might as well keep it going.

What is your resolution for 2014?